Photo Culture
The Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards
May 17–19, 2013

Photo Culture

Aperture Foundation and Paris Photo are proud to present the winners and shortlist nominees of the first annual photobook awards. Anders Petersen received PhotoBook of the Year for his City Diary (Volumes 1–3) (Steidl, 2012). David Galjaard was awarded First PhotoBook of the Year for Concresco (self-published, Den Haag, The Netherlands, 2012).

Prior to Paris Photo, a jury met in New York to review all six hundred entries to the awards. From this collection, a shortlist of thirty titles was selected (ten for PhotoBook of the Year and twenty for First PhotoBook). The following jury compiled the shortlist: Phillip Block, deputy director of programs and director of education, International Center of Photography, New York; Chris Boot, executive director, Aperture Foundation; Julien Frydman, director, Paris Photo; Lesley A. Martin, publisher, Aperture Foundation; and James Wellford, senior international photo editor, Newsweek.

A final jury in Paris chose the two winners. The jury comprised: Els Barents, director, Huis Marseille Museum for Photography, Marseille, France; Roxana Marcoci, curator of photography, Museum of Modern Art, New York, and curator, Paris Photo 2012 Platform; Timothy Prus, curator, Archive of Modern Conflict, London; Britt Salveson, curator and head, Wallis Annenberg Department of Photography and the department of prints and drawings, Los Angeles County Museum of Art; and Thomas Seeling, curator and curator of collections, Fotomuseum Winterthur, Winterthur, Switzerland.

Both prizes come with special distinction; in addition, the winner of the First PhotoBook Prize receives $10,000. Each winner was selected upon the basis of the quality of the photographs, their sequencing, the relevance of the book’s conception, and its characteristics as an object, including its graphic design, editorial structure, and the quality of its fabrication.

Exhibition co-organized by Aperture Foundation, New York and Paris Photo.

Co-organized by

Aperture Photo Paris


The First PhotoBook
of the Year

Olivia Arthur, Marc Asnin, Stuart Bailes, Bea Fremderman, Ingo Mittelstaedt, Athena Torri, Julián Barón, Melissa Catanese, Lucas Foglia, David Galjaard, Anne Golaz, Kenji Hirasawa, Michael Jang, Cristina De Middel, Rafal Milach, N&D, Cara Phillips, Nina Poppe, Jérôme Sessini, Stéphanie Solinas, Chad States, Donald Weber, Witho Worms

The PhotoBook of the Year

Sophie Calle, Ori Gersht, David Alan Harvey, Jacqueline Hassink, Anouk Kruithof, Pietro Mattioli, Anders Petersen, Lise Sarfati, Stephen Shore, Mikhael Subotzky